Uncategorized

Between the Lines

Friday began like any other day, enjoying the day off with the Mrs.. We get through breakfast ( really brunch considering it was 1:15 pm) with no dilemma, which is pretty hard now a days. As we lounge on the couch watching T.V., she goes into the bedroom and returns rather quickly. Concerned, I ask if everything is fine. She responds yes with a confused look on her face. “Well honey what is it?” I asked. “Did you move my clothes?” she asked . Now I’m completely confused because we have been sitting in the same place for at least two hours. “What clothes??!!” I responded, and the response i got floored me.communication

This woman whom I have vowed to give the rest of my life too, looks at me and says ” I tried to throw my clothes in the hamper, but missed. They look closer to the hamper than before.” Well, let me tell you, I laughed so hard in her face. I’ll tell you why, if you think I’m so lazy that I won’t pick the clothes up and put them in the hamper, but will push them closer to it, you think I’m pretty lazy. I will admit, I do have my moments and I think it caught me off guard that she tried to call me out on it. However, being the wonderfully sarcastic individual that I am; I collected myself and responded, “really, i didn’t even notice the clothes on the floor with so many on the bed.”( Referring to the pile of clothes I had just washed the day before and she promised to fold). If looks could reach out and touch us, I would have been slapped with her eyeball.

The beauty of it all though, is because we have relationship goals and communication. Communication  is the key to any relationship, be it business or personal we have to communicate with one another. Otherwise, what was meant as a joke could be taken in a harmful way. Get to know, truly know, the people in your circle. Don’t waste time trying to read between the lines.

Leave a Reply

